Sun rise

I drove towards the sunrise on my way to work. I was early, unusually, and well rested, even more unusual for a Sunday morning. The sky was awash with inky blues and indigo curved around a burst of egg yolk yellow. I felt it unfamiliar and endless and new.

It was unsettling but only because my mind and my heart were at peace this morning. I felt the sky pull me forwards and suddenly I wanted to keep moving; to drive across highways with a lover, singing songs out of tune and eating glazed doughnuts in waxy paper in my old pinkish red Toyota. 

Everyday the sun rises and rests yet I could easily go on forever blinded by simply knowing it’s there. 

Leave a Reply

