alone in thought

I could walk this sand for miles,

Alone in thought,

Watching the frothy tips of the sea

Edging forwards and

Backwards, courting the land,

Coquettishly promising submission.

The wind, slaps and

Grasps, leaving my skin

Pink with pleasure,

Stealing words,

From my throat.

My feet sink slightly

As I tread slowly,

Letting grain settle

In the cracks of my soles,

And I wonder how

It would feel to bear

The weight against

My body, my heart beating

Against its bony brace,

Breath quickening,

Patience tested until

The release.

I could walk this sand

For miles,

Alone in thought.

One thought on “alone in thought

Leave a Reply

