shipshape

So I was late,

And couldn’t find the words

To let you know,

I wanted, so much,

That piece of you,

Cocktailed with me,

That could grow so big;

Too big for us two,

Yet too small

For just this one,

Alone.

I waited days, and spent

Hours dedicated

To agonising over words,

And decisions

And a life, at the helm

Of my body, and of us.

Yet in the end

It didn’t matter,

For you, or for me,

I guess, as it sank,

Like a ship in the red sea,

Drowning seamen and superstitions,

Despite words unspoken,

And I cleaned up the mess

of what never was, and said

Goodbye to the water,

My daughter,

“I’ll miss you.”

Leave a Reply

