little one

Inside this maze, overlooking the world,

I saw her standing there.

This Little One, all quiet and shy,

Veiled by her messy hair.

I knew all of her, though not born of me,

And reached out to draw her near.

But she took off into this labyrinth

Running, as if in fear.

I followed her footsteps, and entered

The void, enveloped in this

topiary womb.

She ran fast, and never looked back,

And I lost the sound of her breath.

I drew to a halt, and gave up the chase,

Too far into the abyss. I felt her pain,

I felt her fear, not knowing what she

Or I would become. I long to return,

I long to find, and comfort

that Lost Little One.

Leave a Reply

